Andaman Travelogue: Day 1 [Port Blair, Corbyn’s Cove, Cellular Jail]

Hello people! I just returned from my Andaman trip yesterday, and my, was it a trip! I have never been to a more beautiful place in my life. The Andamans are definitely a fitting example of a beach paradise, complete with pristine white sand beaches and crystal clear blue waters. It is like a place out of a dream, well, at least some of it is.

Departure: The 4th of April: I had to wake up at 5 a.m to get ready for my flight. At that point of time, I was bubbling with excitement. The airport is situated at a distance of 27 kilometers from my house, and it takes a fair hour to reach it. After waiting at the airport for a couple of hours, getting out baggage checked and checking in for the flight, we set off at 10.30 a.m. The flight lasted two and a half hours, and while sitting in the plane we could see nothing but water down below. When we were nearing Andaman, I could see landmasses floating about in the blue ocean below, looking tiny from 30,000 ft high. It was a sight to see!

Arrival at Port Blair: Port Blair is the capital city of Andaman and Nicobar. We stayed at Sinclairs Bay View Resort. 

premier_room

Sinclairs Bay View Resort: The room at Sinclairs was honestly beautiful. It was spacious and clean, and the best part about it was that it overlooked the blue sea. The food there was not bad, but it was quite rich for my taste (also completely different from Calcutta food!) The staff were courteous and helped us with our luggage. 

Sinclairs Port Blair

Corbyn’s Cove: My father booked a car that would take us around a tour of the city. The first place we visited was Corbyn’s Cove. It is basically a beach at which you can participate in various water activities like jet-skiing, banana boat rides and speedboat rides. I went on a speedboat ride while my father rode a jet ski. Corbyn’s Cove is just a place the visitors are taken to, to kill time. There is nothing special about it, and serves well as a time pass and/or if you want to indulge in water activities.

corbyn-s-cove-beach-waer

Cellular Jail: [Brief History: The Cellular Jail, also known as Kālā Pānī (derived from Sanskrit words ‘Kal’ which means Time or Death and ‘Pani’ which means Water), was a colonial prison in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, India. The prison was used by the British especially to exilepolitical prisoners to the remote archipelago. Many notable dissidents such as Batukeshwar Dutt, Yogendra Shukla and Vinayak Savarkar, among others, were imprisoned here during the struggle for India’s independence. Today, the complex serves as a national memorial monument.] Our bad luck that we learnt upon reaching was that the jail had closed already but we could watch the ‘Light and Sound Show’ which would start at 6 p.m. Personally, I felt that the Light and Sound show was needless to say very patriotic and is a must for all history lovers, but I must say that it got boring fifteen minutes in and some of the people fell asleep during it or left. I did listen to the show but sometimes I’d catch myself looking at my wristwatch or at the moon above my head which was shining unusually bright that evening. Also, there were a lot of songs which made me yawn. The show went on for an hour. It basically told us the history of all the freedom fighters who had been imprisoned there during the British rule in India, and was made out of stuff from our history textbooks. Overall, I wouldn’t recommend that much. 

We returned to the hotel at around 7.30 p.m. The disadvantage of Sinclairs Hotel was that the wifi was terrible there. I had to spend my time looking for the Japanese Bunker and a cannon on the hotel grounds, and also taking pictures. I had an early night as the next day, we had a cruise to Neil Island early in the morning.

The day was overall enjoyable. 

3 thoughts on “Andaman Travelogue: Day 1 [Port Blair, Corbyn’s Cove, Cellular Jail]

  1. A very well written and beautifully designed content.. Really helpful for those who want a person’s personal perspective about the place.. Hope to read more travelogues from you… Udit

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

